May 30, 2010

The results are in

Posted in Triathlons at 10:26 pm by Lisa

First of all, I realize that I’ve never written the name of the triathlon I did – it was the Israel Women’s Triathlon in memory of Tamar Dvoskin (http://www.women-tri.com/?categoryId=17226). This is the 17th year it’s been held and has increased in size to almost 1,400 participants this year. It’s a pretty big event here and I was so psyched to be part of it – can’t wait for next year!

Because next year I expect some massive improvements on these results!

In the Sprint (over 45) category, there were 110 participants. My times were:

Swim: 23:16 (103/110)
Bike: 55:52 (101/110)
Run: 32:07 (45/110)

which is a total of 1:51:16 (90/110).

So… on one hand, I went into this race not knowing what was going to happen. It was all a clean slate. So I’m ok with those numbers from that perspective. BUT… to be honest? I know I can do better. Now I know I’m never going to win but there’s a lot of room for improvement and looking at the rest of the results, even bettering my total time by 10 minutes puts me in the middle of the pack (~68/110).

So what do I have to do to get there?

1. Improve my bike time (that means getting a road bike, and doing some serious work with it. Never having ridden a road bike before, I don’t actually know what my results could be, but just about everyone I spoke to today who knows about this kind of stuff, mentioned the bike. So, the plan is to get a bike. And then to start doing interval stuff, as well as distance and hills (although I’ve got to find some hills in Tel Aviv!)

2. Lower my transition times – I think that this first race was crazy. I was so overwhelmed and it was all so new, I had no idea what I was doing! That’s ok – I think each subsequent race will get easier and better in time.

3. Improve my swim time – again, I think that this will come with time and better goggles!

4. Find a way to balance the above and keep my run strong! (Cause my run was great!)

So I’ve got to think about the above some more but just to be clear about this – I did great! and I’m really proud of myself! Look at me go!

All inked up

I did it!

1 Comment »

  1. Judy and Bill said,

    we loved the pictures and the details. Bill said it exhausted him reading it. You know how he loves exercise!

    I am especially impressed with the volunteer work you do in addition to your regular job and p/t work. You have such a good heart. It is so nice being related to you.

    Much love,

    Judy (and Bill too)
    Ps. The numbers can only get better with a new bike and practice. I think you did remarkably well for the first one.


Leave a Reply

