June 12, 2010

Did I mention that I love my bike?

Posted in Training at 8:51 pm by Lisa

Ok, yesterday it was a superficial love but after this morning’s ride, it’s the true thing!

I went out for about an hour and the first 20 minutes or so, it was a little nerve-wracking. Everything about a road bike is different, especially the handlebars and hand positions, the gears and how you change them, how the bike rides, etc.

For such narrow wheels it was an incredibly comfortable ride – in fact it even rivaled Pamela’s Trek mountain bike that I was using. There must be some great shock absorbers in the Specialized frame because after an hour, no butt pain! Although I do need to get a decent pair of bike/triathlon shorts at some point soon. Just to add to the look, no?

I went round and round a loop (8 times) in the park to  figure out how the gears actually worked. Unfortunately, there are no numbers to tell me which gear I’m in so there’s more remembering than I care for, as to which way is low and which way is high but after awhile, I got used to it.

I don’t know if I really went so much faster, but I felt that I was faster and that’s half the battle, right?

After the park, I rode over to Tamar’s and dropped my bike off and then we went for a 6km run in the park. And then my favorite part of Saturday – the after work-out breakfast!

Best part of adding a bike ride to my work-out? The additional calorie burn (so I indulged in bacon and eggs)! Yum! 

Off to the supermarket now – to wear or not to wear my frog feet. That’s the big question at the moment!

3 Comments »

  1. Judy and Bill said,

    You really wear those frog feet? I thought they were a joke. They are hysterically funny to look at. How do you get your toes into them? The new bike sounds like fun. Mazal tov on its acquisition and figuring out how to ride it.

    We just got back from Maine where we took the lazy person’s route. We drove. While in Maine we walked around for about 6 hours daily going from shop to shop, store to store, on paths, looking at historical sites such as forts, etc. It was a lot of fun, as always and the weather was great. We found some great outfits for the boys which I shall mail to Elaine this week as soon as I can catch my breath and catch up on the mail among other duties.

    do you need an infusion of reading lists for future Kindling? I found a few new really good authors.

    Ta for now and talk to you soon again.

    Love, Judy (and Bill too)

  2. Joan Kolarik said,

    Ella keeps asking if they’re comfortable — really really comfortable?

    • Lisa said,

      I’m actually wearing them right now – and yes, they’re really really comfortable! You don’t really notice the toe thing. I think you would love them because you walk around barefoot a lot, right?


Leave a Reply

