June 19, 2010

The Israel Trail – and so it begins!

Posted in Hiking at 8:55 pm by Lisa

A really quick post after just getting home from a hiking weekend. This was the inaugural weekend for Etgarim’s hiking group walking the Israel Trail. It was a great trip and I think everyone had a good time. At least I hope they did – if you look past the weather (very hot!), and the usual teething pains for something so new – the next three years of crossing Israel North to South promises to be very special.

I know I had fun – met some really interesting people – despite my footwear fiasco. I’ll be writing up a more detailed recap soon but right now I’m exhausted and am going to bed! Up at 3am on Friday morning to drive up North, a full day of hiking (10km) and sun, practically no sleep on Friday night, another day of hiking (15km) and sun, and the drive back down to Tel Aviv – no wonder I’m ready for bed!

And if you’re wondering…

Isn’t that sad looking? The soles of my shoes just completely separated – the top picture is the emergency attempt to allow me to continue until we found a more “permanent” solution. It’s a good thing that my shoes were the only things needing bandages this weekend!

More to follow – but I’m too tired to write now and after looking at the rest of my pictures, I see that they’re not that great. I want to wait until I see the photographs of other people because I’m fairly sure that they’ll be an improvement on mine. Until then…

(What does it say that my best shots are of my pathetic shoes!?!)

1 Comment »

  1. Judy and Bill said,

    You poor thing. Your shoes are a study in misery. I think you can safely discard and treat yourself to the best pair you can find. You certainly are going to put them to good use.

    You must tell me about the Israel Trail. How long, where does it start, where does it end? What do you see along the way, etc. There is no likelihood of my ever doing that, but I would love to know about it. The most exciting hiking I have ever done is climbing Masada in 1962 when there was no escalator and we took the snake path up. Coming down was awful, I kept sliding and winding up on my tush. I now hate going down anything! The view was incredible and it was just before they did major digging there. I felt like a true pioneer.

    Guess that’s about all. We’re still working on the Indian cooking video and I just finished two very good mysteries.

    Much love,

    Judy


Leave a Reply

