August 27, 2010

Surprise!

Posted in Training at 2:02 pm by Lisa

Well, not really – just another blog from me two days in a row. How exciting (ok, not really)!

Anyway, I finally registered for the triathlon yesterday and I’m giving the heads up now that I just very well might be in last place. There were only 105 people signed up for the Olympic distance in my age group (40+), 14 of them women. Just about everyone was affiliated with some triathlon club. Now I know that doesn’t make everyone a quasi-pro but it does mean that they’re getting some serious training in and working with some of the best tri coaches out there – of course, they’re not working with the best overall coach – I do have to be loyal to Lior – but their focus is pure tri, and what can I say, weights are still a passion of mine.

In any event, I’m getting used to the idea that I might very well be last, and that thought was only enhanced after my disastrous morning swim in the Mediterranean Sea this morning. The sea really wasn’t that rough but I had a really difficult time and only managed about 20 minutes in the water. Not good. I was really disappointed but I’m going to have to put it down to the remnants of my cold (nothing is more gross than getting out of the water and having to smear a whole bunch of snot away from your mouth) and improper warm-up before going in and truthfully? just general cockiness on my part thinking that I was oh so ready for this distance and perhaps I’m not.

Anyway, the swimming experience was blech but the aftermath, sitting around having coffee with everyone was nice, and I’m planning to do another swim on Sunday afternoon with Hezi and Hila, to just get a little more confidence in myself. I’m sure it will be ok but I’m revisiting my goals for the triathlon:

1. Finish – Truthfully, I might be last. But I’m hoping that I’ll be able to finish without any major problems.

2. Since the swim distance is a bit of an unknown for me, I’d like to just be able to finish the swim with a smile on my face and not be pulled out of the water. Also, to still have the strength to finish the rest of the race.

3. Come in under 1 hr and 50 minutes for the bike – I’m being conservative here – on it’s own, I think I could do this distance in 1hour 45minutes but I don’t know what the swim is going to do to me.

4. Regarding the run, negative splits is the goal here. I don’t know how hot it will be when I finally start running (ok, yes, it will be very hot), how I’ll feel after the above bike and swim, but I think I’m just going to forget about the actual time and be happy if I can get in negative splits for each kilometer. Even if it means by a second or two, I’ll be ok with that. Also, I’d like not to have to walk but because I don’t know what the weather situation will be, I’m going to make sure to listen to my body and if I feel like something is wrong, I’ll definitely slow it down.

I hope it doesn’t sound like I’m not looking forward to the race because actually I’m very excited for it to take place. It’s all a bit unknown and maybe I’ve bitten off more than I can chew but it’s a challenge so I’m going to go for it and see what happens. It’s a bit of a learning experience as well and I’m just going to go with the flow and enjoy myself. I’m sure it will be a lot of fun, no matter what happens!

On a different note, Orit and Dror (who were part of the abovementioned apres-swim coffee break) wrote an article about our trips up North on the Israel trail. It’s only in Hebrew, but I’m in the 2 group pictures. And if you do read Hebrew, I’m mentioned 3 times in the article! Check it out and forward it along – they’re trying to find sponsors for the hiking group and supposedly the more comments/trackbacks/thumbs-ups, etc., the better.

http://www.ynet.co.il/articles/0,7340,L-3943095,00.html

1 Comment »

  1. Mom & Dad said,

    Coffee?


Leave a Reply

