September 8, 2010

The Not Long Version!

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:17 am by Lisa

So I just got back from a 10.5km run. It was a good one – saw lots of people on the way – Benny from the gym, Lior working out with another 2 clients, and ran the last kilometer with Hila and Yair from Etgarim (which is where the 1/2 km came from because I was planning only 10 but I was motiviated to continue along with them for a bit). I’ve had 2 strength work-outs this week which were good. Lots of chest and back work.

I forced myself to get to the pool on Monday – did 1,500 meters in an hour. I’m happy to say that it was great and I really enjoyed it! I say an hour but it might have been about 57 minutes (woo hoo!) because I tried really hard not to stop at the wall at the turn-arounds – just to take a breath and start the lap again. So that was very cool.

I know I promised (threatened) to write up a longer version of my triathlon on Saturday but I’m not feeling it so just a few comments:

  1. Even with the failure, I had a good time – it was really fun seeing people I knew from Etgarim successfully tackling this race. Awesome group of people!
  2. I am trying to think of how I can improve my times, in all the disciplines. My running has just gone downhill – I seem to have lost about a minute a kilometer and I’m a little bummed about it but I think that this past cold of mine has really taken a toll on me. I feel like I’m only now just really getting back to my norm.
  3. I think for the Eilat race I’m going to try to really up the mileage so the goals are to get to 2km swimming, 60km biking, 15km running and hopefully the actual race, which is less than these distances, will be a breeze. (Lior has given a stamp of approval for this plan so we’ll see how that pans out.)

Having said that, one of the things I’ve been thinking about is the “extremeness” of my workouts. I’ve been talking about this with friends and it’s funny because I don’t think I’m at all extreme with the exercise/activity I do. It has to do with where you place yourself on the activity scale and then everything is all relative. I follow so many blogs of people training for Ironman competitions and various endurance and ultra races so I look at my activity and don’t think it’s so much at all. And when I consider what else I’m doing the rest of the day (shlumping in front of a computer, sleeping, eating, the occasional walk here and there doing errands), it’s really not that much. And when I think of the actual efforts involved in those activities? Believe me, I can be the slacker when I choose to be.

I think that’s what happened to me in Caesaria – the training leading up to it was good for individual races but I never trained for a triathlon – putting all the disciplines together. And I didn’t push myself enough during the race.

Anyway, enough of that – it’s the start of a new year, with new races and challenges to meet!

Leave a Reply

