February 4, 2011

And… She’s Back

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:22 am by Lisa

Ok, so as I’m getting ready to go out for my 20km* run this week, I thought I’d just quickly drop a line to get back into the swing of things and sort of catch up with what’s been going on lately.

We’ve had a week of rainy weather and Hila and I toughed it out on Wednesday night as the skies opened up. We were doing an easy run in the park and all of a sudden, it was as if buckets of cold water were being dumped on us. If we hadn’t been all the way on the other side of the park we would have dashed for home but as it was, we ended up doing a good 6km. My sneakers have since dried…

Unfortunately, the Etgarim bike tandem ride planned for the previous Saturday was cancelled in the middle (after I got up at 4am, rode down to Arad and stood around in the cold rain again for about an hour, waiting for everyone’s bikes to be adjusted). This was planned to be about a 33km off-road tandem bike ride. I was really looking forward to it because I had never ridden a tandem bike before and I don’t ever remember doing any trail riding. Well, at least one thing was accomplished… Shachar (who is blind) got on the back of my bike and we rode about 4.5km on the road to get to the trailhead. At that point, it was decided that it would be too dangerous to continue in the rain so that was the end of that. We pulled into a nearby gas station and waited for the cars to come pick us up. On one hand, it was a lot of fun! And we were kicking butt on the hills (we passed everyone!). But, the rain was freaking me out because I was scared of the slick road, and the bike was just a bit too big for me (and heavy!!). It’s a really different feeling on a tandem. I’d definitely like to try it again. And it left me with a real desire to get outside and bike more! Of course the sun came out as soon as we left Arad and headed back to Tel Aviv. However, I didn’t take out my beautiful bike… but I did head to the gym and put in an hour and a half on the bike trainer. Not the same thing at all but I did get to watch TV the whole time!

Below is us waiting to finally leave. I’m the one on the far left, in the shorts, with the blue fleece getting my bike sized for me.

So what else has been happening? A couple of races – there was the 15km race that I last mention, done with Etgarim. I ran with Yossi and Clari and it was a tough race (the course was laid out so there were 2-3km inclines at both the beginning and end). And the middle of the race was in orange and grapefruit groves so I guess that was nice (although maybe I’m remembering it that it was nicer than it really was because as usual, very little spectator support, cause you know, who’s hanging around orange trees?) Below’s a pic towards the end, taken by Clari’s husband.

Also, on the last day of 2010, there was a great 10km in Hod HaSharon (well, not that great because the race was really lame and only promised shirts to the members of Etgarim and NOT to the volunteers. I ran with Ohad and pushed him to a great 62 minute PR. He offered to give me his shirt, but the race was soooo lame that they totally ran out of shirts completely. (although he bought me breakfast so I was happy!). A few weeks later, the race director delivered shirts to Gai, the leader of our running group – they were all men’s large AND had nothing printed on them. Really bizarre. But I took it anyway – you never know when you’re going to need an extra shirt!

Below is a group photo of everyone. I’m in the blue fleece because I hate being cold after a run. (and I love my fleeces!)

*So I’m off for my run now – and why 20km? Well, I signed up for the upcoming Tel Aviv marathon, taking place on April 8, 2011. Will keep you posted!

3 Comments »

  1. My Sister said,

    Wow, I need to step up my game to keep up with you sis!

    Keep it coming – I love getting pictures too!

  2. Mom said,

    Sounds like your & Shachar are quite a team. seeing you running & biking in such cold, rainy weather is giving me the motivation to start working out again….

  3. Judy and Bill said,

    Wow. I, as always, am exhausted just thinking about your exercise. It does look like fun though. I remember the orange and grapefruit groves very fondly. Oh to see an orange grove this time of year, or any time of year for that matter!

    I imagine a tandem bike must be really hard to maneouver, but so nice for your friend to be able to join you in the endeavor…three cheers for Lisa!

    Stay out of the rain, it will make you shrink!

    Love, Judy and Bill


Leave a Reply

