April 25, 2011

My First Bike Fall!

Posted in Biking at 2:01 pm by Lisa

And of course, it involved a dog.

Pretty much recovered from the marathon and now that the weather is nice, I’ve been trying to get some long (for me) bike rides in on the weekends. I’m just trying to build up my mileage so that eventually I can join a group that does long rides with a car riding alongside with them (this is the only way I will feel safe out on the roads).

Until then I’m stuck in the park. And it’s a choice of one of two loops – the 1.49km or 1.89km. Both have their downsides (and very few upsides) but what can you do. That’s what’s available at the moment.

Anyway, today I had a late start and didn’t get to start riding until 8:20. I changed my sneakers to my bike shoes and clipped into the pedals. Rode 22km (around and around), occasionally yelling at someone about their unleashed dog in the wrong lane (bikers/walkers). And at one of the corners where people join the park, a woman was standing right in my path with her dog, who was on a leash. However the leash extended about 6ft because the dog’s off sniffing who knows what. I have no place to go and try to get unclipped to stop in time and lo and behold, I can’t.

Crash! I’m on the ground with a bloody knee and a sore hand because I put all my weight to stop the fall. And there’s a bike on top of me because my second foot is still clipped into the pedal! Finally I untangle myself and I think she may have apologized (at least she asked if I was ok). I moved over to the side of the path to assess the damage. I think I was more shaken up than anything so I drank some water to steady my nerves and than climbed back on and continued for another 20km. (All the while, yelling at more people and dogs along the way.)

This was the 1.89km loop and even though it’s longer and mentally a little easier to do, I think I’m going to have stick with the shorter loop – less people and wider paths. So what if I have to go around more than 30 times to get to 50km?

I think that my second ride this week is planned for the gym – that at least is fall-proof and I get to watch ESPN for an hour. Score! (so to speak!)

1 Comment »

  1. Judy and Bill said,

    Hi,

    Bill is writing to you too. Hope you have recovered from your fall. Do you take emergency supplies with you for a “just in case” spill? At least some antiseptic and bandages would be good. I don’t know if you can fit this on your bike but you might consider a very loud horn/bell/siren of some time which would startle people enough to get them out of the way. They may not respond to a voice telling them to. A bullhorn type would do it. People are careless. Personally we never let our dog off the leash and never walked her in the way of other humans…our dog was controlled at all times, even in the park! So much safer that way.

    Glad you are out and about and the weather is cooperating. It is the rainy season here and still hasn’t warmed up reliably. I am waiting for spring/summer. I want to get started doing some flower plantings etc.

    Ta for now. REally looking forward to seeing you.

    Much love,

    Judy (and Bill too who is writing as I do this)


Leave a Reply

