June 4, 2011

Women’s Tri Race Report

Posted in Triathlons at 5:05 pm by Lisa

It’s been a while but never mind, I’ve been busy!

Last weekend was the Women’s Triathlon in Herzliya. This was my first triathlon and I’ve been waiting all year to do it again!

And the event lived up to my expectations – I had a great time! I did the sprint race again – 750 meter swim, 20km bike, 5km run. I had a few goals this year – one was to beat my time from last year, finish with a smile on my face and, as always, don’t finish last!

There was a huge contigent from Etgarim, in memory of Hezi Roll, the founder of the running/triathlon/Israel trail hiking groups who was killed in a tragic accident a month ago. I hung out with them (and got my numbers marked on my body, along with a smiley face inspired by Picasso!)

We went down to the beach – the sea was pretty calm but as always, I was very nervous! It had been raining off and on (at the end of May! in Israel! most definitely the end of the world is coming!).

I’m wearing my new prescription goggles!

Anyway, the swim was slow but having finally bought myself a pair of goggles I could at least see how slow I was going. It made the swim that much easier (well, as easy as it could be). It also let me see a few people who were in front of me and gave me the motivation to try and catch them. I wasn’t the last person to get out the water, but there couldn’t have been too many behind me.

Anyway, after I finally make it to the beach, there’s a long run back to the transition area where the bikes are set up. I had to keep my goggles on the entire run so I could see where I was going! Made it to the bike and because the organizers are very nervous about people slipping on the wet roads, they keep shouting out to slow down on the turns. Me, being so obedient (and a chicken to boot!), have no problem listening to them. There are least 4 sharp turns where I practically come to a complete stop. Other than that, it was a nice ride, even though everyone else from Etgarim was out of the water and on their tandem bikes way before me, I finally caught up with everyone (although I really had it easy compared to them – there was a steep hill which must have been a killer for the tandems. I felt like I was flying up it (delusional, I know, I was probably going about 10km/hour but it’s all relative!)

Here I'm working pretty hard going up that hill - but check out those shoulder muscles!

 
Finally the sun came out and just in time for the run. All of sudden, the day transitioned to July weather and it was hot! But it was an easy enough run (or I took it at an easy pace, I discovered later.) and I finished strong.
Here I am, cruising along in the summer heat

All in all, it was a lot of fun – we all hung around waiting for the last people from Etgarim to come in and then had a well-deserved lunch! (And when I got home, I had a second lunch while I doing a wash!)

So the day itselft was great but… the stats weren’t up that day and when I checked on Sunday I saw that while my placement in every category had improved from last year (even my swim!), my actual times were slower. And so I was a little disappointed with that. I started questioning why my times during training are faster than in a competition. Now, I guess you can say that the weather was bad (but truthfully, on the straights I should have had no problem going fast, and I’m a chicken on turns no matter what the road conditions), and the swim last year was shorter because the sea was much rougher. However, this year I have a (much!) better bike and I think I’m in better shape. So what’s the deal? I spoke to a few coaches about it and they thought it was a mental block that I had – for whatever reason I was scared to really race. (Now I know I’m not going to be on a podium or anything, and I want to have fun and enjoy the race, but I’d still like to know that I’ve done my absolute best and I just didn’t feel like I had at this race.) Their recommendation was to find another race and just go for it! Go all out and see what happens – maybe I’ll blow up and not be able to finish, maybe I’ll puke, who knows? But to just go out and try.

Soooo…. guess what I did this morning? Another triathlon! More on that tomorrow when hopefully I’ll have some pics. But I’ll just leave you with this – guess who was the very last person out of the water (and I mean very very last!)?

2 Comments »

  1. Judy and Bill said,

    Of course we would comment! Way to go. I still cannot get over your determination and ability to finish where you want to AND with that great big smile on your face. It does look like you are having fun and I imagine just having friends around to enjoy with you adds to it all. Cannot believe the weather. What do you mean rain? Talk to you soon again.

    Love, Judy and Bill

  2. My Sister said,

    Wow – you are my hero! I love the pictures – you look like a pro! And how did you ever manage without those goggles????
    You can definitely go faster than you think – remember our first run on the Leatherstocking Trail?
    Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

