July 15, 2011

The Nachshon Triangle

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:10 pm by Lisa

Well, I’d been thinking that this route was going to be my own version of the Bermuda Triangle. I knew it was there but I just wasn’t able to get to it! But finally, finally after hearing about this route for so long I was able to get out there and try it for myself.

Major success!

The ride was great – about 30km done in less than 1.5 hours. Since there were a few times I actually stopped, I’m very happy with that time. And while I was very nervous about the clipping in and out of my pedals (it seems like I’m getting more nervous over time, not less!) there were no falls. Of course since it’s just about impossible for me to start up again on an incline I ended up walking my bike back to the car for the the last 200m (and in my socks ’cause I’m also scared about falling on my butt with my cleats – been there, done that. Not the best way to end the ride but never mind.) Most definitely have to work on getting over that fear.

Anyway, headed back to Tel Aviv pretty early – the highway seemed really packed which bugged me the whole way since anytime I’m driving home, my focus immediately turns to parking. However, I lucked out and found a spot right around the corner from my apt. Shlepped my bike upstairs, showered off the layer of dead gnats, and made myself a big bowl of pasta and cottage cheese (carbs and protein – the best recovery food ever!).

Now I’m off to do some shopping for tonight’s walk – 20km from Haifa to Caesaria! It’s a full moon tonight so Etgarim is going for a beach walk. Should be fun (although I’m already tired thinking of it!)

Have a great weekend!

 

1 Comment »

  1. My Sister said,

    Sounds like a great ride – especially the gnat aftermath – yuck!
    I hope your foot gets better soon because I am going to need you to do some training with me when you get here –

    Hope the walk was fun!

    See you soon!!!! YEAH!


Leave a Reply

