December 16, 2011

Welcome Back!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:02 pm by Lisa

If anyone is still reading…

I’m so lazy when it comes to this blog – I don’t know how other bloggers do it. I must read about 40-50 blogs a week (hmm, maybe that’s why I can’t find the time to write my own), and they’re all pretty consistent about getting their posts done. Anyway, it’s that time of year where people are starting to post about their 2012 goals. I feel like I’ve got to at least wrap up 2011 first, so here goes.

When we last “met”, we were still in the heart of triathlon season and I was looking forward to the Gan Shmuel triathlon and had set that as one of my “A” races for the year. Why? I had heard it was so much fun, and a great race. Well, I’m still waiting for that great race. Although the water was supposed to be the best of the season, it was unbelievably rough. In fact it took me longer to swim the 750 METERS than to bike 20km or run 5km. So that just shows you how hard that swim was. Just about 50 minutes to get out of the water. The swells were huge and towards the end, I had the saying “Davey Jones Locker” going through my head. I was never scared because there were about 8 lifeguards on kayaks surrounding me (“Are you ok?” “Do you need any help” “You need to go back to that buoy and go around it”, etc. etc.) but I felt like I was in the water forever.

Finally got out and of course have no idea where to go since they’re already starting to clear up the course. I finally get on the bike and that at least was fun. And then there was the run. Which was not fun. Which had me questioning everyone’s telling me how great this triathlon was because that run sucked. It was uphill, in fields and sand. Brutal. Anyway, I finished in over 2 hours which I was not happy at all about. And they ran out of shirts, which was so sad.

However, the race did have lots of good points. I was the co-organizer for the Etgarim contigent (Etgarim is the group that I volunteer with of visually disabled runners. There’s been an offshoot of a triathlon group and a group of hikers now doing the Israel trail). There were over 20 people – runners and volunteers – that I helped register, put into teams, handled logistics, etc. I was the point person working with the race organizers and they were fantastic. They helped us so much and gave us a great position for the tandem bikes and really worked with us. I’  not going to make excuses but I probably spent too much time worrying about that whole organization and didn’t really organize my own race properly.

I thought that Gan Shmuel would be my last race of the season but Ashkelon opened up a new race – a sprint triathlon during Succot. I decided to give it one more try and get my head together. It ended up great (although there was yet another wicked hill at the start of the run course, which had to be done 3 times!). Sivia and her family made the long and very early morning drive down to Ashkelon to cheer me on and it was so cool to have them there. And of course Bentsi knew of a great place to have breakfast afterwards! I ran my fastest triathlon yet – 1:50 and missed seeing 1:4X by 23 seconds. Next time!! (I totally blame that hill but now that I know about it, I’ll plan my race better!)

So that pretty much wrapped up my triathlon season. I guess it ended on a high note although it was definitely up and down and I never tackled the Olympic distance that I wanted, and I think that my goals of even longer distances will be put on hold a bit until I get that done. I have got to improve my swimming but haven’t seen a pool since August and have only run by the sea for months – no way I’m heading into that water until it gets a lot warmer!

Anyway, that’s my tri season wrapped up – lots of running races happened recently too but since this post is already too long, I’ll leave it for another one. I bet you can’t wait! 🙂

(Oh, and the Gan Shmuel triathlon ended up being fantastic because they did another print run and I got my race shirt this week! Very cool of them! Cause you know, it’s all about the shirt!)

And sorry for no pictures! I couldn’t find any and just want to get this up!

2 Comments »

  1. Judy and Bill said,

    Happy Chanukah! Congratulations for even attempting and finishing the triathalon, let alone all the other stuff. I was particularly interested in the work you are doing with those who are disabled. Is it a formal group that raises money for that work? if it is, let me know who to send a check to. I contribute to causes like that (remember what i used to do for a living? I worked with disabled adolescents and adults in preparing them for future life…you name it, I helped and courtesy of the state of NY it was paid for!

    We been busy with a lot of political activity trying to get a friend elected. It didn’t work, but we have grand plans for the future for him. We have met a lot of really nice and interesting people through this and we all keep in touch. NJ is a swamp in terms of corruption and we are trying to clear some of the muck out if we can…it will take time, but if we are going to live here we have to feel as if we are trying.

    Ta for now. I am glad you started “blogging” again. Keep busy and in touch.
    Love, Judy and Bill

  2. Pamela Gazit said,

    Hey, I’m still reading! Every time!! I’m so in awe of you and what you are able to accomplish.

    Happy Hanukkah!!

    Love,
    Pamela


Leave a Reply

